Telephone line: 01480 499189


Rules on Betting

The Gambling Act 2005 became law on 1 September 2007. The new law superseded the 1963 Betting, Gaming and Lotteries Act, which had become increasingly dated in the modern gambling environment. The new Act brought about a number of changes to the betting industry and it soon became clear that the prevalent Tattersalls Committee Rules on Betting were becoming outdated too. Consequently, the Committee decided that a review of the Rules on Betting was appropriate. 

In September 2009, a consultation process commenced to review the Rules on Betting. Stakeholders, interested parties and members of the public were given twelve weeks to respond to a consultation paper published by the Committee on its website. There were eleven respondents. A composite of the responses may be viewed by clicking here.
The Committee appointed a panel consisting of two members of Tattersalls Committee and five other experts from within the betting industry, including both stakeholders and independents. This panel discussed the Rules on Betting and revised them, taking into account the consultation responses.   The Gambling Commission were also consulted as a crucial part of this process.
The revised Rules on Betting were then reviewed and edited by Gerald Gouriet QC, who is a top silk with vast experience in legal matters related to gambling. The resultant Rules on Betting were then adopted by Tattersalls Committee itself and formally implemented on 17 May 2010. 
A responses paper, which explains the rationale behind the changes to the Rules on Betting, may be found by clicking here.
The resultant Rules on Betting are displayed on each of the 59 British racecourses and on-course bookmakers are obliged to adhere to the Rules unless they display a prominent notice to the contrary.